Latest News

August 2011

Artists selected for the Central Otago Art Awards [Fri, 19 August 2011]

The Co-ordinator and Trustees of the Central Otago District Arts Trust have much pleasure announcing the finalists selected for inclusion in the inaugural Central Otago Art Awards exhibition to be held at Central Stories Museum and Art Gallery in Alexandra from 8th September until 26th October.

  • Odelle Morshuis
  • Luke Anthony
  • Megan Huffadine
  • Pauline Bellamy
  • Keith Hastings
  • Chris Naylor
  • Andi Regan
  • Esther Dexter
  • Stella Eve Senior
  • Jillian Porteous
  • Ro Bradshaw
  • Nigel Wilson
  • Bernadette King
  • Sonia Keogh
  • Tim Hawkins
  • Diana Kroon
  • Heather Smith
  • Tomoe Baker
  • Gail de Jong
  • Rachel Hirabayashi
  • Dorothy Piper
  • Liz Kempthorne
  • Philippa Obrien
  • Jim Robbie
  • Shelley Witters
  • Stephen Mulqueen
  • Kim Logue
  • Madeleine Child
  • Susanne Kerr
  • Rebecca Thomson
  • Liz Fea
  • Alison Staniland
  • Louise McRae
  • Stafford Allpress
  • Catherine Russ
  • Mehrdad Tahan
  • Ben Reid
  • Darryl John Robertson
  • Karin Strachan
  • Anna Smythe
  • Philip Jarvis
  • Toni Mosley
  • Marie Potter
  • Emma Chalmers
  • Peter Mclaren
  • Max Bellamy
  • Alan Ibell
  • Jasmine Middlebrook
  • Olav Nielsen
  • John Wolters

There were submissions from over 200 artists and with just 50 works being selected, the resulting show promises to be different, exciting and stimulating. By their very nature, all jury processes are subjective - our jury panel consisted of two highly regarded artists; Jim Cooper, ceramicist from Dunedin, and Kathryn Mitchell, writer, artist, tutor and programme manager at the Southern Institute of Technology in Invercargill.

At the opening event on 8th September at Central Stories museum and Art Gallery in Alexandra, the winners of the $5000 Art Excellence Awards and the $2000 Central Otago Artist Awards will be announced by the judges: Elizabeth Caldwell, of Dunedin Public Art Gallery, and Jim Geddes, of Eastern Southland Art Gallery.

Guests will be treated to an evening of wine, food, music, song and poetry. Please note that we require your RSVP to [email protected] by 30th August.

The $1000 Alexandra Community Arts Viewers Choice award would be announced after the exhibition closed on October 26. From 9 September people can go online to vote for their favourite work:

Tickets they are $30 and are available now from Central Stories Museum or from Hullabaloo Art Space in Old Cromwell